

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2015 12 NOVEMBER 2015

10.20 am Maddocks Offices Level 27, 123 Pitt Street, Sydney NSW 2000

Item 1	Welcome		
	Attendees	Organisation	Proxy received from GM of:
	Russell Deans	Bathurst City Council	Bathurst City Council
	Jim Collins	Bega Valley Shire Council	Bega Valley Shire Council
	Neil Sutton	Coffs Harbour City Council	(Visitor) Coffs Harbour City Council
	Stewart McLeod	Dubbo City Council	Dubbo City Council and Warren Shire Council
	Brett Corven	Eurobodalla Shire Council	Eurobodalla Shire Council
	Graham Gordon	Griffith City Council	Griffith City Council
	Brendan Guiney	MidCoast Water	MidCoast Water N/A – is A/GM
	Kerrie Murphy	Narromine Shire Council	Narromine Shire Council
	Wayne Beatty	Orange City Council	Orange City Council
	Jeff Sharp	Port Macquarie-Hastings	Port Macquarie Hastings
		Council	Council
	Wayne Franklin	Rous Water	Rous Water
	Tony Holmes	Shoalhaven City Council	Shoalhaven City Council
	Bruce Logan	Tamworth Regional Council	Tamworth Regional Council
	David Oxenham	Tweed Shire Council	Tweed Shire Council
	Alan Fletcher	Upper Hunter Shire Council	Upper Hunter Shire Council
	Heinz Kausche	Wagga Wagga City Council	Wagga Wagga City Council and Cootamundra Shire Council
	Greg McDonald	Wyong Shire Council	Wyong Shire Council
	Sascha Moege	LGNSW Representative	N/A
	Greg Matthews	LGNSW Representative	N/A
	Gary Mitchell	Water Directorate	N/A
	Juliet Cobb	Water Directorate	N/A
	Michael Clark	Water Directorate	N/A

 Jeff Sharp welcomed everyone, particularly our visitors, to the thirteenth Annual General Meeting of the Water Directorate.

Resolution: Quorum achieved with 16 attendees receiving 18 proxies to vote.

Jeff Sharp moved that the meeting was in accordance with the Associations Incorporation Act, 2009 & the Associations Incorporation Regulation, 2010. Seconded by Stewart McLeod.

Apologies:

Jason Ip Riverina Water Riverina Water

Sunil Prakash Wakool Shire Council N/A

Resolution: Jeff Sharp moved that the apologies be accepted. Accepted by the meeting unanimously.

Item 2: Minutes of the Previous Meeting

o Minutes of the previous AGM were reviewed.

o There were no corrections or comments received.

Resolution: The minutes of the 2014 meeting were accepted unanimously.

Item 3: Chair's Report

- Jeff Sharp reported on the following:
 - During 2014/15 there were two submissions to State Government, firstly regarding Heads
 of Consideration for drafting LWU Regulations and secondly regarding the Occupational
 Profile of the Water Industry Workforce in Local Government. All the Executive
 Committee members who contributed to these submissions through a workshop and
 survey are thanked for their input.
 - Liaison with the State Government Departments and associations remained a major focus particularly as the 'Fit for the Future' reform agenda continues.
 - During the year Executive Committee member Doug Hill retired after 16 years; We thank Doug and Tamworth Regional Council for his time and contributions.
 - Welcome two new committee members Bruce Logan and Graham Gordon.
 - Also during the past year Greg Matthews was appointed to the Executive Committee from LGNSW.
 - I want to acknowledge the outstanding contribution of Stewart McLeod as the only Executive Committee member remaining from the inaugural meeting almost 17 years ago. On behalf of the Executive Committee we thank Stewart for his efforts and enthusiasm over this time.
 - Would like to thank staff members Gary Mitchell, Eloise Stanley and Michael Clark for their excellent support of the Water Directorate's activities. Also welcome Juliet Cobb to the publications role, following Eloise's resignation.

Resolution: The Chair's report was accepted unanimously. Stewart McLeod requested a letter of thanks be written by the Chair on behalf of the Water Directorate to Eloise Stanley for her contribution over the past 17 years. Accepted unanimously.

Item 4: Executive Officer's Report

- o Gary Mitchell's report noted the following:
 - In 2014/15 membership remained at 97/102 or 95% for a fourth year.
 - During the year four Water Directorate projects were undertaken and three were completed and distributed to member councils. These included:
 - Revised Blue-Green Algae Decision Flowchart in September '14
 - New Guidelines for Trenchless Installation, Replacement or Rehabilitation of Pipelines Management Protocols in March '15
 - New Easement Guidelines in June '15
 - Revised Draft s64 Guidelines not finalised due to insufficient data for reliable analysis
 - New WIOA Practical Guide to the Optimisation of AS Plants purchased in October '14
 - No joint projects were undertaken in 2014/15.
 - Councilor Greg Matthews from Dubbo City Council filled the vacancy for the second LGNSW representative appointment.

Resolution: Jeff Sharp moved that the Executive Officer's Report be accepted. Seconded by Stewart McLeod.

Item 5: Financial Report

- Gary Mitchell tabled the financial report and advised that the auditors were satisfied with the accounts and that they had been signed and completed.
- Points of interest included:
 - Income increased significantly in 2014/15 hence the overall surplus decreased for the first time in seven years by \$19,947.
 - This meant that the accumulated funds for 2014/15 decreased to \$429,153.
 - Accumulated funds have reduced to 81% of the 2014/15 income and are approx 6 times the minimum 10-15% range of income as resolved in 2004.
 - After 16½ years of operation, the accumulated funds decreased from approximately 7.7% to 6.6% of the estimated total income since commencement. This figure is based on an estimated total income of \$6.53M over 16½ years.

Resolution: Jeff Sharp moved that leave entitlements be shown as restricted funds and the Financial Report be accepted. Accepted unanimously. Juliet Cobb to upload the audited financial report to the website with the minutes of AGM by the end of November.

Item 6: Appointment of Auditors 2012/13 to 2014/15

- Gary Mitchell advised that the current auditors, LWK Charted Accountants, have provided a good service for the past three years.
- o In 2015/16 an auditor will be appointed for a further three year period.

Resolution: Call guotes for an auditor for the three-year period 2015/16 to 2017/18. Accepted unanimously.

Item 7: Annual Review 2014/15

- Gary Mitchell distributed copies of the Annual Review 14/15 to attendees.
- Sascha Moege requested that Appointed Representatives (himself and Greg Matthews) be included in future Annual Reviews.

Resolution: Jeff Sharp moved that the 2014/15 Annual Review be accepted and Appointed Representatives be included in future Annual Reviews. Accepted unanimously.

Item 8: General Business

 Jeff Sharp advised that Wayne Franklin and Heinz Kausche are resigning from the Executive Committee.

Resolution: Jeff Sharp moved that we thank and acknowledge Wayne Franklin and Heinz Kausche for their contributions to the Executive Committee. Accepted unanimously.

Gary Mitchell to write letters to both councils thanking them for supporting Water Directorate activities over this period.

delivities ever time period.

Meeting closed 10.40am.